Skip to main content

Who We Are

Photo Credit: Matt Leidecker

Who is the Sawtooth Society?

We are a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to preserving, protecting, and enhancing the Sawtooth National Recreation Area (SNRA). We devote our time, efforts, and funds to:

  • Serving as an advocate and steward for the SNRA
  • Enhancing recreation facilities and services in Idaho’s SNRA
  • Facilitating volunteer projects within the SNRA
  • Partnering with policymakers to protect the SNRA
  • Educating the public about opportunities within the SNRA as well as the threats it faces

The Sawtooth Society has long been dedicated to these three outcomes:

The Society mobilized policy-makers and the public to address threats facing the SNRA; joined with the Forest Service to initiate Sawtooth Vision 20/20, and helped develop management plans for SNRA Wilderness Areas.

Enhancing Recreation Facilities and Services
The Sawtooth Society supported USFS efforts from 2005 through the present to design, build and fund the Stanley to Redfish Lake trail. The Society also coordinated nearly $1 Million in Goat License Plate grants for 220 enhancement projects to benefit the SNRA and all who live, work and recreate in it.

Facilitating Stewardship and Volunteer Projects
Since 2014 the Sawtooth Society facilitated and coordinated projects including 13,400 hours of labor which resulted in clearing more than 4,980 trees from 612 miles of trails and providing stewardship education opportunities to more than 400 youth.

What is the Sawtooth National Recreation Area?


The Sawtooth National Recreation Area (SNRA) consists of 756,000 acres of beautiful mountainous scenery. The SNRA includes the Sawtooth Wilderness, Cecil D. Andrus-White Clouds Wilderness, and the Hemingway-Boulders Wildernesses. The SNRA has over 900 miles of trails, 40 peaks rising over 10,000 feet, and 300-plus high-elevation alpine lakes that add to the spectacular scenery and vistas. Recreational pursuits include outdoor activities like camping, hiking, backpacking, fishing, boating and canoeing, rafting, observing nature, photography, and bicycling.

Board of Directors

The Sawtooth Society’s board of directors comprises individuals who share a passion for protecting Idaho public lands, taking care of Idaho forests, and enhancing recreation facilities in Idaho:

Officers & Executive Committee

  • Hans Carstensen, Chair
  • Arlen Crouch, VC Partnerships
  • Debra LaMorte, VC LPF Grants
  • Tom Benson, Treasurer
  • Ted Pardoe, Secretary
  • Jon Bauer
  • Monica Church
  • Terry Clark
  • Pat Pettiette


  • Ashley Baker Reese
  • Connie Blair
  • Steve Botti
  • Jeff Clegg
  • Harvey Dale
  • Kelly and Carmen Duncan
  • Doug Fenn
  • Jason Fry

  • Gretchen Hurlbutt
  • Carter MacNichol
  • Chris “Mitch” Mitchell
  • Patsy Nickum
  • Doug Obletz
  • Helen Pardoe
  • Patricia Young

Director Emeritus

  • Paul Hill


Sawtooth Society | Sawtooth Mountains | Sawtooth Society Staff
Photo Credit: Harvey Dale
Kathryn Grohusky Sawtooth Society Executive Director

Kathryn Grohusky –
Executive Director

Kathryn's Bio

Kathryn Grohusky, Executive Director of the Sawtooth Society since 2019, has built a career as a successful manager and energetic leader who is passionate about protecting wild places, providing superior project management, and cultivating leadership and high-performing teams. Before moving to Idaho with her family in 2019, Kathryn served for several years as a Leadership Faculty for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs’ Aspiring Leaders Program, offering coaching and instructional services through the business she founded, CoachGro LLC. Her coaching business also included private international clients and local leadership workshops. Before coaching, Kathryn gained 10 years of government and nonprofit managerial experience in Colorado. Her leadership skills also include 15 years of guiding and teaching outdoors for organizations including the National Outdoor Leadership School. In addition, she volunteered in many board and committee roles during her 22-year residence in Summit County, Colorado, where she founded and served as board president of the Friends of the Dillon Ranger District, a nonprofit partner of the USFS Dillon Ranger District. Kathryn earned her master’s degree in natural resources recreation and tourism from Colorado State University in Fort Collins and her bachelor’s degree from Colorado College in Colorado Springs.